Leaving your children

I’m not talking about permanently, just for a few days for a holiday or a business trip. I’m going away for a few days next week to Ragdale Hall spa (I’m a very lucky bunny I know) and it’s something I do every year as my big treat. I did it before Alice was born and have done since. I remember the 1st year after she was born and she was about 6 months old and I was still breastfeeding. I took my breast pump and used to to keep my milk going. It developed a squeek (the pump not my breasts) much to the amusement of my friend who I go with! Anyway back to the point. Of course I missed Alice from the minute I walk out the door and I still do every year. I leave a very long list of instructions for my husband who helps out with Alice a lot but has not much of an idea of the stuff that ‘just happens’ like what she should wear for school (!) and when her homework must be in. But my biggest hurdle is not being the one who knows everything that is going on for these few days. I’m so used to assuming that role and it’s hard to let go. All of us need a break so I know it is good for me and her but I miss my little Alice so much…

Leave a Reply

