I don’t know how she does it

I was given the book ‘I don’t know how she does it’ by a good friend for Christmas, you might have read it?  I ‘consumed’ it in 2 days!  For me it was like reading about my parallel life.

If you don’t know, the story is about a working Mum and her failing juggle to manage her family and a very stressful job with an employer who has no tolerance of her family commitments.   She spreads herself so thin that nothing works and she barely exists as she is torn between her children, husband, job and everything else.  It’s a comedy and of course situations are exaggerated to make it a good read but it also pressed my serious button.

I didn’t go back to work after having my baby because I knew that this could have been me.  This book really did make me realise that I had made the right decision.  I don’t have it perfect but I have it a lot better than if I’d gone back to my previous job as a financial services project manager.

So this morning, as I start a new year of work and get back to What’s On 4, I’m glad that I’m not on a packed train to London, I’m glad I’m not sat in an big flashy office, I’m glad I’m not preparing for meetings but I’m glad that I had to brave the gales and rain to take my daughter to school and I’m glad I’m writing this blog now!  Happy New Year 🙂

5 Responses to “I don’t know how she does it”

  1. Liz Weston aka @TheLizWeston Says:

    Thank you for writing this. I’m grateful for my businesses as well. They are allowing me to have a final day at home with E, before he goes back to school tomorrow and W, before he goes back to pre school. And with my husband being a stay at home dad whilst I work full time, this is really important to me. Although now I literally have them both sat on me so I’m one finger typing!!

    I have seen so many blogs and comments in the last couple of weeks about how glad people will be to see the back of 2011. But for me, if 2012, is the same as 2011, then I’ll be very happy and grateful. It wasn’t a perfect year, but it had lots of good points, and I’m determined to be happy with what we have and do more where and when we can.

    Here’s hoping we can spread some positivity and enthusiasm to others as they start 2012!

  2. suz Says:

    so true – achieving the balance is the key to it all – and keeping a sense of humour! I enjoyed this book a lot too

  3. Fiona Price Says:

    Was reading with interest until you said ‘Financial Services Project Manager’, when I sat up ! I am a FSPM currently wrestling with a 4 day a week job (but full time really), which I hate, 2 gorgeous children which I love, and my own little blossoming book business that I’m trying to grow. At times currently, I am jack of all trades, master of none, run ragged, and massively unhappy, however I do see a light at the end of the tunnel and just need to bear with my plans until they all line up. I can totally see why you wouldn’t want to return to your previous environment – I don’t want to either !

    • swilloughby Says:

      Hi Fiona and thanks for reading. I really need to do some more blogs! You really do have a lot on your plate. Being a PM part time must be a massive challenge as you’re just expected to be there when needed. I hope you get much closer to that light at the end of the tunnel quickly. I have to say that PM skills and experience have been a massive help in running my business so the hours you’re clocking up now will pay you back!

Leave a Reply

