EveryGirl

Hello!  I’m facing a room full of 300 15-18 year old school girls in a few weeks as part of the EveryGirl event in Basingstoke!

I was chuffed to be asked by the amazing Liz Jackson (of Secret Millionaire fame) to get involved and I didn’t hesitate to say ‘yes’.  I remember very specifically someone coming into my school when I was about the same age to run a business workshop and then I went on to do Economics at GCSE and A Level.  I didn’t have any grand plans to run my own business when I left school as there weren’t any role models that I could aspire to be like.  The only option that I thought I had was to get a job after education.  I still think having a career does set you up for running your own business but I also hope that some of the girls at the EveryGirl event will come away knowing that having their own business is an option for them, if not straightaway, then in the future.

You can find out more about EveryGirl here http://www.facebook.com/events/301598636582389/#!/EverygirlModernMuse

Leave a Reply

